Residents of these 9 states will need a passport to fly within the US beginning January 2018


With the onset of Real ID Act 2005, residents of 9 states in the US will not be able to board a local flight without a passport.

The Real ID Act of 2005 states that state-issued IDs from these nine states do not meet the minimum security standards of the federal government:

These states include Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington State.

In addition to their non-compliant drivers licenses, they will be required to produce any one of the following:

  • A U.S. passport.
  • A U.S. passport card.
  • A U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Mariner card.
  • A Personal Identity Verification (PIV) card.
  • A Personal Identity Verification – Interoperable (PIV-I) card.
  • A U.S. State Department Driver’s License.
  • A Veteran’s Health Identification card (issued by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs).
  • A U.S. Permanent Resident card (Form I-551).
  • A U.S. Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship (Form I-551).
  • A Department of Homeland Security Employment Authorization Document (Form I-766)

Residents of states that have issued or are currently issuing federally approved issued IDs would not require a passport for domestic air travel.

However, according to the Homeland Security website, there are about 20 states that are being reviewed and are not deemed to be compliant as of yet. The map below from the Homeland Security website identifies the states.

By October 2020, all states will need to be Real ID compliant.