Uhuru reschuffles 12 Permanent Secretaries, moves Muraguri to Lands

Uhuru Reshuffles 12 permanent secretaries
Uhuru Reshuffles 12 permanent secretaries

In what he termed as changes aimed at enhancing teamwork and improve accountability, President Uhuru Kenyatta has reshuffled 12 principal secretaries.

The mini-reshuffle was conducted just less than five months away from the August elections.

According to a statement by the State House spokesman, the changes were made as was part of continuing efforts to improve the efficiency of services.

“The President has purposed the changes to enhance teamwork and to improve the accountability for results in the execution of the government’s responsibilities,” he said in the statement.

Fresh from a 100 day doctor’s strike, PS Nicholas Muraguri was transferred from the Health docket to the Lands ministry. This also comes on the heels of a report by the health ministry internal auditor that Sh5 million could not be accounted for.

Another key PS, Patrick Nduati Mwangi has been transferred from Water and Irrigation to the Department of Industry and Enterprise Development.

Other permanent secretaries who were moved include:

PS Richard Ekai, who was principal secretary in the Department of Sports Development who is now Department of Correctional Services

Mwanamaka Mabruki- Devolution to Gender Affairs

Peter Kaberia – Defence to Sports Development

Julius Korir -Industry and Enterprise Development to Health

Zeinab Hussein-Gender Affairs to Irrigation

Micah Powon – Correctional Services to Devolution

Mariam el Maawy -Lands to Public Works

Saitoti Torome -Planning and Statistics to Defence

Irungu Nyakera-Transport to Planning and Statistics

Paul Mwangi -Public Works to Transport.